Seeing the BIG potential of occupational therapy

Image

I can’t quite believe it is twelve months since my last post, I feel sad that I have not found the time to write more because lots has happened on my occupational therapy journey that I would like to share on here.

I have volunteered on a project that aimed to use occupational therapy to address the needs of carers, I presented at the College of Occupational Therapist’s annual conference in Glasgow, started working as clinical support on a psychiatric ward and have been on a role emerging placement working with the homeless population.

I am now in my final few months of my degree so not long until I have my OT ‘wings’… I’m just trying to work out where these wings will take me for my first post… mental health or physical health setting? Community or inpatient? National Health Service, Social services,private sector or third sector? The variety of work as an occupational therapist seems endless as more and more people and organisations become aware of occupational therapy what it REALLY is and how we can benefit society with our beliefs that people are what they do and engagement in meaningful occupation is linked to positive health and well being.

My recent six week placement working with the homeless saw my placement buddy and I going into an organisation that had never had an OT service. We gave a presentation during the first week and asked the staff what they thought OT was, we asked again at the end and it was great to see that we had transformed their perceptions and furthermore they could really see the potential of OT in this setting.

I am going to write a piece on my experiences on the placement and how it challenged my thoughts around occupational therapy practice within the traditional medical model, highlighted the relationship between oppression, occupation and well being and developed  my passion for working towards occupational justice, I feel as occupational therapists it is our duty to do so.

I’m hoping to update this blog more regularly as I approach the next stage of this journey and become a qualified occupational therapist.

About lhesketh1

Final year occupational therapy student at the University of Salford, England. Mummy to two precious little girls ♥♀♀♥ daughter, granddaughter, sister, niece, cousin,friend, neighbour, cupcake baker, blogger...

One response to “Seeing the BIG potential of occupational therapy

Leave a comment

cjackson5

My journey so far as an occupational therapy student, and how I am trying to practice what I am going to preach... an occupational balance.

We do big ideas

Where dreams of the future are made

OT tid bits and other stuff

Life is too short. Look at what you have, Who you love and your own life. Enjoy every moment of every day as though tomorrow will never come

mystyleowl

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

jenniefromtheblogOT

Occupational therapist creating and maintaining an effective online professional presence